MY LORD, WHAT A MORNING!

Met with two lovely friends this morning, Lin and Nessie - and what an adventurous morning it was. None of us knew the others that well, but we looked on this as a chance to get to know one another better.

First I had to find where they both lived so I could collect them to go on our adventure. Made a few wrong turns along the way, but eventually we were on the road and winging our way towards the Waterside Café at South Cerney - ready for a Full English breakfast, coffee and chat.

We couldn't see any signposts, so headed along the Spine Road and again, went down a few wrong turnings. It's a long straight road, so cars come along there at a fair rate and the Audi that sped up behind me was no exception - however, as I was still looking for our final destination, I indicated with my left indicator, and as there was no turning there, fully expected the driver to overtake me - wrong! He pulled in behind me and was obviously not happy that I was only going very slowly.

Eventually, however, he got the message and went past - but not before I had let my feelings be known - but I then remembered a sermon from a few months ago, when the preacher said that if another driver did something that annoyed us, we should not curse but bless them, so I blessed the Audi driver - after all, it's not his fault he is a man and can't read a woman driver's mind!

He turned left some way ahead and as we drew closer to the turning we saw a sign that pointed us to the Waterside Café, so we turned left too - Nessie said she hoped the Audi wasn't going to the same place as us - but yes, you guessed - there he was, walking across the car park. I wound my window down and apologised, but said I was trying to tell him by indicating that I was looking for my turning - he apologised too and we then followed him into the café. We had a quick chat with him, and of course, not one to pass up a Blip opportunity, asked if I could take his photograph - so here is Dave with his arms round Nessie and Lin - what a lovely young man!

We had really wanted to meet Andrew, who works at the café as a chef two days a week, but he had gone fishing for the day, so we were served instead by Richard and he did us proud, along with his young assistant, who was a very attentive waiter.

After our breakfast we went for a walk by the side of the lakes and continued chatting - amazing how even when you haven't known someone for very long, you realise you have much in common - and as we chatted, we realised there were many things about which we could share and give mutual support. I don't think that will be the last time we go out to breakfast together!

“And let your best be for your friend.
If he must know the ebb of your tide,
let him know its flood also.
For what is your friend
that you should seek him with hours to kill?
Seek him always with hours to live.
For it is his to fill your need,
but not your emptiness.
And in the sweetness of friendship
let there be laughter,
and sharing of pleasures.
For in the dew of little things
the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.”
Khalil Gibran, The Prophet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.