Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Swallow that!

Thanks for all the comments on my picture yesterday, and sorry I've not had a chance to respond. Too much to do, with all these beaches, tavernas.....

One thing about Symi is that it is built on the side of a steep rocky hillside. The only way to get electricity to the houses, especially those up in the top of the old town, is by cables strung between telegraph poles. From a photographer's point of view, that creates a problem; it is virtually impossible to get a landscape view without cables across your picture, as I'm sure some of my blips later this week will prove. However, it can also have it's advantages. These two young swallows have been sitting on a cable outside our accommodation all day waiting for mum to come and feed them. And feed them she does! The one being fed seems to be getting the lion's share though, whilst the other seems to spend most of his time preening himself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.