Double Shot Mummy

By JPS

Last day at British Orchard

How did that happen? Bailee and Oscar have had four terms in Foundation Stage One and had their last day today. I didn't sleep much last night. A tired mummy meant that I cried and cried dropping them off with daddy.

One of the teachers said that they are the heart and soul of the nursery. The teacher aid touched my heart as she said that she loves them like her children.... They have had a wonderful experience, truly enjoying their multicultural class and gaining confidence in so many areas. The teachers have been wonderful to them.

Beware: Shameless mummy boast: They both know all their phonics, can write their names as well as some other letters (Bailee much more neatly). Oscar asks a lot of very complex questions.... he is so inquisitive. They both have known all of their phonics for quite some time and can even count and add small sums together. They both like to tell stories now and have fabulous imaginations.

Most importantly to me, both Bailee and Oscar have made a lot of friends. Their personal identities have developed and they have gained self esteem and a love for learning. They are very caring children in different ways. Stu and I are just so proud of them.

I clearly remember the first day my twins started at nursery in Dubai. I can visualise the photograph of them excitedly standing with their backpacks by our front door (But frustratingly cannot find it!)

So cheers Oscar and Bailee. Let's raise our glasses (Plastic cups?) to the next chapter.

Edited to add that Oscar actually fell in the swimming pool today. He didn't listen when I told him not to walk around the edges and down he went! I heard him crying out loudly, really upset and went to see what had happened. He told me that he fell deep in the water but managed to get to the side and get out by himself!I feel bitter sweet about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.