Bits and Bobs!

By Kate64

Bus Challenge No 21!

Today's challenge was to make it home without falling asleep on one of the four buses! I failed the challenge, first time I've ever fallen asleep on a bus!!

Another calm crossing, and a very quiet night aboard the ferry, only 55 passengers on a ferry with a capacity for 800! Up at 6am for a last taste of France and Croissant and Pain au Chocolat for breakfast, as we sailed back into Poole Harbour, past Brownsea Island (top photo) under another cloudless sky.

By 7am, we were off the ferry and on our way back to my Godmother's flat for a couple of hours rest, before setting off on my bus journey home. Was so tired I wasn't sure if I would make it!

So with a case of wine strapped to my back, and a rucksack full of cider and smelly cheese, I set off on bus No 1 from Poole to Bournemouth, where I had some time to spare. So a quick peek at the gardens where this giant hot air balloon was tethered, giving people a bird's eye view of the town. Bus No 2 took me from Bournemouth to Salisbury (just about managed to stay awake), but on bus No 3 from Salisbury to Bath, sleep overcame me, and I dozed my way back through Wiltshire! By the time I took my last bus from Bath, I was seriously flagging and the smelly cheese was seriously smelly!!


Total bus journey times = 5h
Total waiting times in between buses = 55 mins
Total bus journey time = 5h 55 mins
Walking at start and end of journey = 25 mins
Total door-to-door journey time 6h 20 mins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.