Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Newport Transporter Bridge Sunburst

At 8.12am I was woken by the sound of a loud generator and disc cutter right outside my open bedroom windows. The loudness was horrific. It was the last of the workmen, the resurfacers, to patch up the mains water leak that occurred last Saturday. The noise went on for about an hour. I was cursing them but what can you do. I suppose it's nice to see the British manual worker starting early - just not in my back yard (or street)!

After a breakfast in the conservatory and enjoying the sunshine, I visited my brother who lives near Abergavenny in a large cottage backing on to the Monmouth canal, where he has a canal boat tethered. He retired at the same time as me (we joined together) but continued working part time as a civilian, and wangled it that he just works Mon-Thurs. He's a bit of a character. Three ex-wives and living with present partner.

The blip photo is of Newport Transporter Bridge. I just had to stop and take it as I loved the way the sun was shining through.

Later in the afternoon the rain started. I knew it wouldn't be long before the sunny dry period finished. On the way home I went shopping to get food in for the weekend. My friend Karl Pilkington and his wife are staying this weekend. I pick them up from the railway station Saturday evening. He loves his food and I've promised to cook. I just hope they like it.

Another night of footy on tv. Even I'm getting a bit fed up with it. Nice to see Suarez get a ban for his bite (not enough - me thinks). How's he's got the audacity to appeal is beyond me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.