Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

It's a wonderful world

It was a beautiful sunrise at Merewether this morning but I have posted lots of sunrises and I wanted to post this surfer almost at one with this wave. There were some big rollers coming in with the high tide.

I saw more whales this morning. Much further out than yesterday although one closer in did a huge breach just as I was walking the dogs in the park. I saw a large pod of dolphins and about 6 or 7 caught a wave with a surfer. I put the big lens on and they didn't do it again but moved on. They had been jumping about, spy holing like whales and generally having a party.

Later this afternoon I went to a funeral of someone I have known for about 23 years through my work. Sometimes you find out so much more about people at their funerals, particularly as they are seen through others eyes. It has made me think about things. He died suddenly of a heart attack on Saturday and was only 60. The same age as my dad was when he died suddenly. His children are about the same age as I was and I could feel their shock, disbelief and pain. It has reminded me that we live in such a beautiful world and the importance of living each day as best as we can. I saw so many wonderful things this morning and for that I am truly thankful.

I am possibly going to be off the air for a few days. There are visits on the weekend and maybe another adventure. I will leave you with this though...

To love. To be loved. To never forget your own insignificance. To never get used to the unspeakable violence and the vulgar disparity of life around you. To seek joy in the saddest places. To pursue beauty to its lair. To never simplify what is complicated or complicate what is simple. To respect strength, never power. Above all, to watch. To try and understand. To never look away. And never, never to forget.”
― Arundhati Roy, The Cost of Living


For Tony

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.