Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Crescent moon

I got up early to catch the sliver of a moon rise. It was better yesterday as Venus was closer but it was higher in the sky. Before walking the Hs, I stopped at Newcastle baths and was playing around with some pre-dawn surfers (by playing around I mean I was photographically playing around with them) and just as I was wondering whether I would see the dolphins again I saw two dorsal fins of a larger and smaller humpback. Probably mother and calf. They were in really close to the surfers and I could see some of them had seen them. Such a thrill but no decent shot. This might show how close in they were. With a slow show of the tail as it dove, they went their merry way north. That's been my treat today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.