LightWave

By LightWave

Bright Eyes

Well, as a Brit, I'm accustomed to the mantra Red Squirrel good, Grey Squirrel bad. Here, things seem to be the other way around - mention red squirrels and you are likely to be met with a shake of the head, a sharp intake of breath and to be told that they are "evil" and "vicious" and to receive offers to "get rid of it for you". I have to admit I am skeptical. You certainly don't want them in the house that's for sure - or grey squirrels ether for that matter, but unlike the greys which are all over the balcony in spite of it being "squirrel-proofed", the reds don't seem interested in much beyond the sunflower seeds that the birds have dropped. And they don't "frighten the chipmunks" - the worst excuse I've come across yet for shooting them.

Anyway, we had a few Wile E. Coyote moments this week with Bright Eyes here. And a new air pistol arrived in the mail. However, for the moment, Mr. Lightwave and I have reached a truce - until he proves himself to be undesirable (the squirrel that is) I'll continue to feed the birds and Mr. L. won't shoot at the squirrel. (I haven't told him there are two of them.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.