Sometimes it's good....

Sometimes it isn't!
I wonder if my fellow blippers have the same problem as me. Some days I go out with my camera, and absolutely every shot I take is total pants!!
Overexposed, underexposed, blurry, not in shot, you name it...it happened today!
So this, and the fact I am feeling a bit blipfrazzled means this is about the best I can do today. I went to my favourite woods after work, but sadly there was very little about, I saw some White admirals, but they were swooping and gliding with finesse high in the canopy, not a chance of a shot! There were Ringlets too, but they saw me coming and legged it.....so in the end it was this Comma Polygonia c-album or a Large Skipper.
The Comma gets it's name from the white C marking on the under wing which resembles a comma. A proportion of the butterflies from the summer brood (june - july) have shorter projections on the wing edges and are more brightly coloured with paler undersides than the darker winter individuals these are known as form hutchinsoni, and this individual is most certainly that form.
Hopefully off orchid hunting this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.