Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Just Too Difficult

When life is too difficult to write about, it doesn't help when you shoot at an interesting event on burst. Just too many shots to trawl through!

So finally, nearly a week later, I get around to deleting all those shots with crucial bits of horse or rider missing, and get around to making a choice.

After leaving the show field at the start of the day to check up on The Mother, I came back and spent the day enthusing about photography. The Mother was having a friend visit during the day for company so I didn't worry too much.

I left when we closed the marquee to go back to her and found her in a very poor state. She said life was slipping away. I wasn't surprised, she's had a bad time and eats very little. Life is so difficult for her and she isn't frightened of death. She didn't want me to call a doctor. She called two friends to say goodbye.

I sat holding her hand for a couple of hours but then she was getting restless and uncomfortable. She clearly wasn't now about to die and I wanted any help I could get to make her comfortable. At just after eight I made the call. They said a doctor would call me within the hour. 10 minutes later The Mother was angry no one had arrived! An hour and a half later I rang again. I got an apology and a promise of a call.

I got a bit of a telling off and told it was not my decision as to whether someone should die. I was told I should have phoned as soon as I saw how ill The Mother was. A very sympathetic Doctor arrived sometime after ten.

No drugs given, just a thorough check and reassurance, but an appointment with The Mother's own doctor needsto be made. Soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.