Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Moving Forward

Today my little girl completed her first eight years of schooling and said goodbye to the wonderful elementary school where she learned to read, to write, to speak French, to spike a volleyball and to sink a free-throw. She has had kind and wonderful teachers and has grown so much since I first took her to meet her junior kindergarten teacher at age four.

And speaking of growth, when she put her dress on, I was startled to see that she has grown at least an inch and a half in just six weeks since we bought it!

I teared up when the rest of the school (including little brother) broke into a beautiful rendition of True Colours in honour of the leaving class at the end of the graduation assembly.

The day was dampened a little bit by the fact that I had a nasty migraine headache (day five - ugh) and needed to leave immediately after the ceremony to return to my office where the bizarre events of the afternoon shall remain unreported out of my professional obligations of confidentiality. But it was quite the day.

I am very, veryready for the weekend. And very proud of this lovely young woman who will be twelve in two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.