A Sunny Day in the City

It was another beautiful day in the Christchurch I took a slow walk around the city to get some wonderful vitamin D and some photos. The building I did my blip on yesterday is just a pile of rubble now. When I got home I had a good rest so that is why my blip is a bit late going up.

I thought I would do a collage as I didn't know which shot to use for my blip. The shot top left is of the Christchurch Wizard Ian Brackenbury Channell and the other guy is from the Clockwork Emporium and Cafe.

The shot top right is off the other side the building I did a blip of last Monday. They have done so well as it does look like metal supports holding up the building but it is all illusion.

The shot bottom right is of the Victoria St Clock Tower I did the blip the other day of the postcard where the Clock Tower use to stand in around 1915. As you can see the time has stood still scene the February earthquake 2011.. that was the time it stuck! I thought the light today shinning through the coloured glass looked so beautiful.

The bottom left shot is of the Canterbury Provincial Council Buildings which were badly damaged in the earthquakes. Here is a shot I took on March 5, 2011 not long after the February earthquake. The wooden part stood up to the earthquake very well but as you can see in my photo taken in March 2011 all the brick buildings were destroyed. They found the original plains and have saved as much of the building as they could and it is going to be rebuilt again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.