Lewis Chessmen

Well, it's been another busy day, up early to take Luke to town to catch his bus to St Andrews and me to Lockerbie for the Edinburgh train. Today was Wool Against Weapons Day, when the pink scarf was stretched along the Royal Mile from Holyrood to St Giles. There were a lot of bemused tourists.
After calming down with a coffee and lunch at Lucano's, gazing dreamily at a huge map of Italy, I went off to the Museum of Scotland and the National Portrait Gallery. The Lewis Chessmen figured in the last book I'd read by Peter May, and I wanted to see them again.
They were probably made in Trondheim in the 12th century, and discovered in a sandbank on the Isle of Lewis 900 years later. Made of walrus ivory, they are beautifully carved and exude vitality. I have a replica set at home and they are a pleasure to play with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.