gennepher

By gennepher

A home made wooden cross...Dorothy...

All I could read from this was an incomplete description. It was the home made wooden cross that intrigued me with what looked like Dorothy inscribed.

So with Dorothy Camilla (I assumed it was 'Ca' before the 'milla') and death 22nd October 1999 keyed into the search box I wasn't expecting to come across anything.

Imagine my surprise when she is in the first entry and in the Peerage Pages. I wasn't expecting that with a home made cross. To be in the Peerage Pages her parents have to hold one or more of five possible titles - duke, marquess, earl, viscount, baron.

Dorothy Camilla was only one year old when she died.

She has four siblings, two girls and two boys. All the children had what I call gentle old fashioned names. And I sort of imagined them running round a dilapidated old house, getting up to all kinds of mischief and climbing trees in the apple orchard.

I imagined the hand made wooden cross to be the siblings' contribution with the aid of the parents.

This was to be the end of this entry, then I remembered castle ruins nearby, and a run-down pseudo type Victorian castle hidden in the trees. It turns out this is the family ancestral home. For some reason this gives me a gentle smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.