gennepher

By gennepher

A surreal green...

I tried on google but it offered me nothing except United States sites despite me putting in Hawarden UK. Sometimes I despair with google. I long for the days when you still had all those alternative search engines. One was sure to come up with the goods.

It is sad her children died young. Two in one year within a couple of months of each other, presumably it was something going round. When you get to the infant's name George Ricketts I get the sense she has given up because he has no middle name, like the older two, or it could have been she had a difficult birth and the baby died. If you peek between the blades of grass, she herself died a few years later, possibly in childbirth or maybe she was heartbroken.

So I toddled over to DUCKDUCKGO. At least here I don't get those incessant emails from Amazon based on my google search trying to find the ingredients of Saltines. No tracking on DUCKDUCKGO if anyone is interested in using it.

Anyway it gave me this site which includes details of this grave, but there is nothing new.

However, looking further into the site I realized it was a master index which contained all the surnames and many of the unusual first names to be found in parish register transcripts of Clwyd (Denbighshire & Flintshire in North Wales).

So basically you have here a whole 'surnames & unusual first names beginning with A through to Z' courtesy of the Clwyd Family History Society.

This is a brilliant resource for many different things, finding a grave, or for someone wanting different names for writing stories and stuff.

Now excuse me while I go back to investigating this list.....

Oh, by the way I took the photo because of the clear grave inscription, and that surreal green that is on it. It has a poignant quality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.