WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

La fête du village

I'm at a bit of a loose end this weekend ... I should have been at choir practice, but an hour before I was due to leave I got a phone call to tell me that it was cancelled because our director had been taken ill. Not good news :( I sat on the sofa and twiddled my thumbs. Then I went out on a bliphunt, but the weather was entirely unsuitable: 33C under a cloudless sky, so I soon gave up that idea.

This evening is the village fête, directly below our windows, so we get to enjoy it whether we like it or not. Seeing as I was here and not at choir practice, I decided to try some candid people shots. This is completely different from the type of photo I normally take, which seems a good enough reason to post it. Tried it in mono, but I like the daffodil yellow. I hesitated between this one, and this blurry but atmospheric shot.

I confess I was hoping that it would start to rain around midnight so that the fête could be successful but we could still get a good night's sleep. Well, it actually started spitting rain at about 9:30, but the party goes on and the disco has started ... we have retreated indoors for the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.