Gillian and Nick

By gillianandnick

Bike Fit

I had a bike fit last week, for those, (probably most) who are unfamilar with the concept, it's a way of measuring yourself and ensuring the bike you ride is the correct size and everything is set up correctly to ensure maximum pedalling efficiency and power - bike shops charge £35 for the pleasure.

The outcome was quite interesting ... my torso is 4cm shorter than the average person of my height, fortunately my legs are 4cm longer (therefore my head size is normal) My right arm is nearly 2cm longer than my left (quite normal apparently - I am right handed - on quizzing the relatively un-enthusiastic assistant he claimed it was because you do more things with your stronger arm so it either grows more or stretches?!? Finally my right foot is 6mm smaller than my left, this 6mm is considered outside the 'normal' variation in foot size.

The upshot of all of this is that my bike is too short in the seat tube, so after much deliberation I am going to swap it out for a colnago (that's a type of bike that's geometry is particularly suited to my body) so the Dolan is on the way out. Shame ... it looks nice. But the Colnago I'm sure will look every bit as sexy with true italian heritage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.