village sign number 2

Goldhanger is a small village right on the Blackwater Estuary in the county of Essex UK.

The sign features St.Peter's Church which dates from the 11th century, a Thames sailing barge which frequently sailed on the Blackwater to the town of Maldon in Victorian times and a World War One Royal Flying Corps Bi-plane commemerating Goldhanger Aerodrome which was active from 1915-1918

The flight I mentioned in my blip yesterday was to the airfield at Goldhanger so I thought that it was a good moment to blip the sign which I had planned to for some time.

I grew up in this village. As I cycled there and back today, I concluded that the things that I hated most at that time, including the lack of public transport and the isolation from "entertainment" were the very things that allowed me to experience the things that I enjoyed most. These included relative safety and freedom to 'roam' , wide open spaces and the pleasure of solitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.