TOGETHER

Firstly, thank you everyone for your kind comments about my blog - you know who you are - it is much appreciated.

Secondly, thank you for the advice about how to post to bliptogether!

Thirdly I suddenly realized when trying to frame Paul - my 6' 3" Irish VT Editor - for the first of my bliptogether's, through the viewfinder of my Canon how much I dislike squares and square format.

It's not how I see the world! Give me panorama - albeit 35mm - any day!

We shoot our professional work on Sony HD 16:9 (widescreen) 1080p format, and in absolute honesty - and in fairness to myself - this is generally how I visualize everything I do.

So trying to capture a still image in 35mm format, in the knowledge that it has to be square formated, to be included in bliptogether has been an interesting experience!

It's a challenge and I like it ... and a small discovery that the requirement of hands extended mid shot .. leads to the center of the shot to be at the solar plexus ...
( I know I haven't achieved it in this image!)

Anyway all of this led me to Brian Patten, one of my favourite contemporary poets and this composition ....


A blade of grass

You ask for a poem.
I offer you a blade of grass.
You say it is not good enough.
You ask for a poem.

I say this blade of grass will do.
It has dressed itself in frost,
It is more immediate
Than any image of my making.

You say it is not a poem,
It is a blade of grass
It is not quite good enough.
I offer you a blade of grass.

You are indignant.
You say it is too easy to offer grass.
It is absurd.
Anyone can offer a blade of grass.

You ask for a poem.
And so I write you a tragedy about
How a blade of grass
Becomes more and more difficult to offer,

And about how as you grow older
A blade of grass
Becomes more difficult to accept"

Brian Patten

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.