My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

Graduation

All hail the conquering (well sort of) graduates!

What a fantastic day. The ceremony wasn't just fun because we were graduating, but also because some very special people were receiving honorary degrees and other awards. Peter Higgs, Francois Englert and Rolf Dieter Heuer were all there, as well as some other important and interesting-sounding people. I had a seat right at the front, so I had the best view of all the goings-on. It was also the first time that the Freedom of Edinburgh award has been given at a graduation ceremony - Higgs being the recipient. Very few other people have this award, including the Queen, Sean Connery and Chris Hoy.

Aside from fangirling over famous physicists, it was great to see my coursemates again - at least the ones who are graduating this year - and to celebrate the end of an era. I can't say I'm sad to be finished, but I will miss the friends I've made and I wish them all the best for the years to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.