Sunbathing

Walking the dogs across The Ham in Tewkesbury in the golden glow of the fast disappearing sun, we could hear the sounds of the skylarks over the meadow. Basking in the warmth of the last rays, listening too to the abbey bells as they tolled nine o'clock, ringing out across the flat meadows bordering the river Avon, was just beautiful.

Taking a path directly back through the grasses the light was catching the sorrel which had turned the most beautiful russet colour and was surrounding us on all sides. I just caught a glimpse of this skylark which I think is a youngster perched on one of the sorrel stems and thought I'd chance getting a bit closer for a shot. With the dogs behind me, I knew it was a little unlikely but it didn't seem as concerned as it might. Gently tiptoeing and moving stealthily forward I managed to get this just before it took off. Thrilling to see it bathed in the almost orange light of the evening sun and thrilling to get so close!

What a lovely end to a fairly hectic weekend of entertaining!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.