Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Close Encounter

Hoping to get an endearing shot of mum feeding her baby great spotted woodpecker chick as she has been all week I set up the camera half in and half out of the bedroom window. I'd topped up the suet balls and the nuts guessing that it was just a matter of time before they flew in!

Right on cue the baby winged in onto the gazebo just as usual but like lightening this magpie homed in. Had I been trying to get this shot I never would have but by chance I was clicking the switch. The magpie landed on the far side of it but after a flurry of wings on the baby's part they more eyed each other up. Watching, it seemed like the baby was almost asking for food. I had been at the ready to step in and scare it off!

While the drama unfolded I must have accidentally pushed the remote switch onto lock and the camera was taking more pictures than you could shake a stick at, which I think the magpie and it's newly arrived mate could hear and was causing them to stop and listen being more wary. Meanwhile I was panicing as to what had happened to the camera as it rattled off a dozen more shots :)) Head shakes here!!!!

The slight commotion with the camera meant that they did clock on that they were not alone and the magpie and it's mate flew off while the chick survived another day!

More encounter shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.