Scribbler

By scribbler

Genius Bar again

The new Apple Store on Yamhill. (SOOC)

The experience is like coming forward for holy communion. You ascend the marble (or in this case, granite) steps to the altar (a long generously proportioned table the width of the entire store), and the priests (in this case, Geniuses) come and minister to you.

Is this what the designers had in mind? I don't know, but it's a gorgeous, spacious building all glass on three sides. The old one was so crowded and cramped you could hardly breathe, and it didn't help that it was on the basement level of a mall. The new store has its own plaza and is full of natural light. There's lots of room to get problems resolved in a comfortable setting, and all the tempting new devices are spread out for your inspection. There's even a kids' table.

I like the indoor/outdoor reflections — especially appropriate in this case because the store interior has the feeling of being seamlessly connected with the street and city.

--------------------

My Genius showed me how to get a PDF of my novel onto my iPhone, so now I can read it wherever I go without having to carry a heavy 500-page document. How cool is that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.