Knossos

We're heading home today, but we've spent the day exploring Heraklion including a trip to the historic site of Knossos.

I can't say I was impressed by Heraklion as a city (Chania is much prettier) but Knossos is something special. It's a little odd that they've rebuilt some areas to look as they believe them to hace looked, but it's brilliant all the same. It's crazy to think how long the site has been there!

Heraklion is not what I expected it to be, especially as its the largest city and capital of Crete. Having said that, the harbour is gorgeous and there is a great shopping/dining section. Rory and I spent a long time walking along the harbour and back, there were so many runners and cyclists going around the harbour and I don't understand how they do it!

Highlight of the day: Greek boys singing "silly can holders" instead of city can't hold us.

I'm sad that we are leaving today, but I've had a great holiday and Rory and I shall be taking some great memories away with us. Greece is a wonderful place, and I will be back at some point, although hopefully to another part of Greece!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.