weewilkie

By weewilkie

the Cut

I went for a walk round the Greenock Cut today. It's an old aqueduct system that was designed to take the water from the nearby loch into Greenock. The aqueducts themselves are fairly dry now and run parallel behind IBM.

I had lots of nice images from the walk. The views are jaw-dropping. However this one of a plane changing direction and seeming to link two overhead wires was the one I returned to again and again. I like it because it's a completely man-made image in the surrounding nature. Of course, the Cut itself is man engineered, as are the pathways and bridges and bothies. But I mean that it was an image I captured by looking up at the right time and seeing this aeroplane turn into the frame of the wires.

I like the simplicity of the lines. The angle of the wires, the puff of the contrails and the wee crucifix of plane. All intersecting to make a striking image. Each one cutting the sky and coming together beautifully in the deep blue sunny day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.