weewilkie

By weewilkie

yoker zen

This is the cycle path that will take you all the way to Loch Lomond. This is a section of the path that enters Yoker. You can see the welcome on the rocks. I thought it was hilarious. As if someone had read my mind and posted a little "note to self" just for me. Let me explain.

Today I took my bike out for the very first time in a looong while. I'd just got it serviced and working again and am trying to get a bit fitter for Spain. Yesterday a long walk, today a first cycle in quite a while. I've really gotten out of shape and have had many many aborted attempts at getting my fitness back. So, feeling quite pleased with myself off I go for a cycle and ... it was like a wee Yoker Jimminy Cricket with a spray can.

Trying not to make it all about ME ME (I know, but at least I try), I wondered what the person who wrote it was thinking.
Was it just provocative?
A joke?
A philosophical treatise for rumination over the rest of the cycle journey?

This is an extremely popular and busy cycle path. Countless people will pass the FUCK YOU gateway. If nothing else it punctures our endeavour a little and gives the pursuit of our ideal self a little humility. That's no bad thing, in my book.

Onwards. Through the gates of FUCK YOU.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.