The Stable

The builder worked overtime today and completed the brickwork base and cladding on the stable. Although you can't see it, the floor already has a covering of straw ready to receive a new resident. The roof proved a step too far, so has a temporary finish only. Not too sure when the builder will return to finish the job - she's not very reliable in that way!

This is another building in my Doll's House collection. It is 1/48th scale (1 foot = 1/4inch) and is only about 3ins or 8cm high. It forms part of a larger farmhouse kit which I have had for over a year, and is mainly built, but needs decorating as and when I have the time and inclination.

I was inspired by my visit to Wanborough Great Barn last week, and opted to form a brick base and wood cladding for the walls. The interior is "white-washed" with straw made from fibres sold for thatching on models. When I can work out an appropriate scale, I try to find a horse to occupy it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.