I Have Within My Pantry ....

.... good store of all that’s nice;
I’m sure you’re very welcome – will you please take a slice?”
“Oh no, no,” said the little Fly, “kind sir, that cannot be,
I’ve heard what’s in your pantry, and I do not wish to see!”

Some might remember my crab spider with its fly prey of 21st June. I've seen Crabby in her hogweed lair since with her legs outstretched in hunting mode. No sign of her today but I found her pantry.

I like that word. When I was a child, before most people had fridges, our pantry was home to a metal meat safe with a gauze front, groceries in blue paper bags, hard cheese with an inedible muslin rind and butter that soon went rancid.

Some spiders cache food, I'm not sure whether crab spiders do. Maybe these are just empty exoskeletons?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.