such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

Love.

I had my taster day at Cambridge University today and it was fantastic. It was held at The Engineering Department and was aimed at people who wanted to study maths and other, related subjects. We started the day with Maths and it was just an hour's session on problem solving and the ways to approach unknown problems; it wasn't as helpful as I thought it would be as we only covered a few questions, but I'm not complaining because I was still really lucky to get into the day. Afterwards we had a lecture on Computer Science - which I'm not going to consider as a degree option - but it was still good fun and quite a lot more straightforward than Java Script would have you believe.

Next was lunch. We ate at St. Catherine's which was great because it meant that we could get a feel for one of the colleges - I was impressed. Although the old exterior that most of the colleges are known for is a bit of a disguise because the moment that you enter the college it's all extremely modern, and unfortunately, most of the extensions that are being built don't stay in keeping with the expected look of an classic building. This shot was taken outside the chapel of Corpus Christi college; the inside was absolutely glorious but none of the pictures that I took came out very well unfortunately.

After lunch we had an Engineering taster; which wasn't helpful at all. All we did was test a new website designed to help with interviews - although I suppose that it has given me a useful tool for when that time comes. And then to finish off the day was Physics, which I enjoyed much more because it was more of what I was expecting: classroom teaching. Although the work that we did, even though it was what you study at degree level, was really not any harder than A level. It didn't help me to make up my mind about whether it's actually Maths that I want to study though.

Having been only one of sixty on this taster course though, I'm extremely glad that I went today. It was good fun - and I did feel rather special being able to go into all of the colleges whilst the public had to stay out. Hopefully this time next year I'll actually be a undergrad. That would be so lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.