WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Ta-da!

Yesterday marked my 36th day of not blipping vines. My original secret challenge was to blip something other than vines for a whole calendar month, but once I got into it, it got easier to do and it really wasn't hard to blip different subjects the last few days.

This may not seem much of an achievement to you, but you have to bear in mind that I work from home, and if I don't blip vines, 80% of my normal blipping territory is out of bounds. Plus I have to look very carefully at the remaining 20% to make sure no vitis vinifera has snuck into the frame (you may think there are vines in this shot, but I framed it carefully and there aren't).

I found it surprisingly enjoyable. On a few days I struggled, but in general it made me look harder for blips and try a wider variety of subjects (even if I did rely quite heavily on the two F's, food and flowers). Only two EBCBs though!

When I look back over these blips there are some I am really pleased with, that I probably wouldn't have blipped if I hadn't been avoiding vines. So I can recommend getting out of your comfort zone from time to time!

I took this on the way home from a picnic at le Pech d'André -- as you can see it wasn't exactly picnic weather, but it didn't rain. Although the Minervois is only a few miles away from home and is covered with vines too, it's noticeably different from the Corbières -- here's a bonus shot with even more vines in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.