Four-spotted chaser

Five hours of driving and seven hours of (slow) walking and I can still move - progress indeed!

We went to Hickling Broad NNR today, where Chris was working. While he and Pete hunted for tiny hoppers, I pootled round the reserve and absorbed the unique atmosphere of the area - swallowtail butterflies flapping strongly over the reeds (but not settling today), green-eyed Norfolk hawkers patrolling a ditch, Montague's and marsh harriers soaring overhead, an avocet dabbling in the mud, the insistent buzz of a grasshopper warbler and a sneaky Chinese water deer. But in the end my favourite image was this four-spotted chaser, perched on a reed stem.

Many thanks for all the kind comments on yesterday's image - I nearly posted some reflected clouds instead, but I'm glad I went with my gut feeling :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.