Dusk survey

The car had its annual service and MOT today, which meant I had a quiet day to recover from yesterday's exertions. This evening Pete and I visited a wood that I'm surveying to see if it was being used by bats. It was quite eerie when we arrived, as we disturbed a huge roost of mixed corvids, well over a hundred birds. A small number of pipistrelles emerged just after sunset and foraged within the wood. Even more exciting was hearing either two or three tawny owl chicks calling. They must have fledged as they were moving around, but still sounded delightfully wheezy. Of course after a grey evening there was a beautiful sunset, but I hadn't taken my camera, so today an iPhone interpretation will have to suffice. Off to Suffolk in the morning, so time to get some sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.