An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Gallery Curator

Friday 27th June

Peter Riley, curator of the Young and Creasey Galleries, Salisbury.

I mentioned in my Blip of last week how I will be working with artist Linn O' Carroll. Only here and there and for only a few hours.

Peter has run these free to visit public galleries that are housed upstairs in Salisbury's library for as long as anyone can remember. All owned and funded by Wiltshire Council.

I have gradually got to know Peter more and more over the years. I have been part of exhibitions - both photography and art - and was helping out as documenting photographer for the Other Worlds major exhibitions a couple of years ago. That was championing the art from military servicemen and how such had often helped in their understanding and recovery from post traumatic stress they had suffered.

I have given Peter the link to my Blip address so I better be a bit careful what I say about him, in case he finds a rare few minutes to check this one of himself out! He's a knowledgeable, easy-going chap whose ideas and philosophies don't suit everyone (there - is that diplomatic enough??) but once on his wavelength then he is a good "egg".

I was popping into his office here. I had knocked, was called in but he was flicking through his computer files. Having already framed the shot, I kept clicking the shutter, basically, until he turned round. I'm not sure if he looks pleased, or disapproving, or what... I did (light-heartedly) threaten him with posting it up on my 'daily blog'. But I really doubt if he would ever actually pose on demand and I like this as it shows his environ too. The light is natural, coming from a big skylight above.

I don't think you can see anything you shouldn't on LARGE but it does reveal the (dis) organised chaos that is so essential for the creative sort!

Lens is the manual focus and old Nippon Kogaku (Nikon) 35mm f1.4

It seems that nothing too much is happening with Linn right now and no doubt I shall bump into Peter soon (we both walk up the same road to go home, from city centre) and he will tell me about something he'll want doing.

Huge and Big thanks to all who've currently got my Cloudscape of yesterday up high in the Spotlights. You are all really really REALLY nice people!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.