An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

What, no Super Moon?

Wanting to rid of 'another early morning rise, eh, Tim?' from joking male friends, thought I'd go out at midnight and capture the remnants of the much Blipped 'super-moon'.

Nowhere to be seen, mind you, there was a fair amount of cloud around. Maybe it hadn't risen yet? Though on my way back home, I did see it quite low in the south east, trying to emerge from cloud. So, will just have to wait until the next normal full moon!

I have snapped this juxtaposition between fire station tower and Cathedral Spire before, but that was in black and white. At night, with the streetlamp glow and red light atop the spire, which was still floodlit at 00.03 hours, colour gives it all a slightly unearthly, surreal feel.

The lens was the same focal length but a different one, as I use an old 'D' Nikkor 70-300mm f4-5.6 ED for tripod use. It's much smaller and lighter than the vibration control Tamron I used back then though I still set the camera to 'Mirror Up' mode, which lifts the mirror a full 30 seconds before exposure is made, to allow the set-up to fully settle. Not something to use when in a hurry or for moving objects, of course.

To look in closer try LARGE

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.