WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

More goings on...

...in the undergrowth.

I've been watching my little ladybird eggs for a little while now wondering if I would see them hatch. Yesterday afternoon, I noted they'd changed colour from a vivid yolk yellow to being a little paler with a dot inside them. I thought they must be on the move. Before going for a walk this morning, I checked on them again and they'd all turned a taupe colour but at just 2-3mm, there was no movement that I could see.

Feeling a little impatient, I went for a walk with Little Dog and couldn't help checking up when I got back. I didn't think they'd go from bright yellow to hatching in 24 hours but here they are with no proud mum in sight.

Apart from me!

I have always loved nature but photography and Blip is really encouraging me to spend more time watching which I am enjoying immensely. I'm also learning a huge amount too, from new words to aspects of nature I knew nothing about. Today, I've discovered the derivation of the word taupe which I didn't realise comes from the French word taupe meaning mole and thus, the greyish brown of its fur.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.