Sydney

By Sydney

The Garden of Gethsemane

I think this may be my new favorite place on earth. I didn't know what to expect but I was prepared for it to feel pretty touristy and far from personal, but it wasn't like that at all. It was rather hushed, not by command, but by acoustics if that's possible given that there was no contrivance in place to achieve quiet. I can honestly say it was enchanting. Bougainvillea softened the walls surrounding the garden on 2 sides (the 3rd side being The Church of Maria Magdalene, the 4th side being The Church of All Nations) and provided brilliant stains of color against the stone. The soil was rose colored, dry and pale, the light so intense that gnarled ancient trunks appeared almost iced in a silver overlay that stopped crisply at the edge of each bark wrinkle revealing the stark black of the small trunk cavern that time and wind had created. The garden is small and square, laid out into 12, or maybe 16, rectangular beds each with an ancient olive tree as it's prominent fixture. Even given the intimate size of the space, the light swallowed the color of the roses or Nasturtiums in the bed one removed from where you stood. Access to the beds themselves was prohibited, which was grand as you could stand quietly at the edge, leaning on the iron fence railing and walk your eyes throughout this site without interruption. I stood for quite some time watching small gray and brown lizards climb down and scuttle across the paths and butterflies darting like tiny white winged ghosts in and out of the shadows. Some, if not all, of the trees date from Christ's time, some of the most ancient and contorted trunks succumbing to age and weather and now mothering emerging new growth that will in time become venerable and leathery but for now host pearly frosted olive colored leaves that shimmer and rustle in soft breezes.

This is a magical place. And one that does not shove religion at you. The rock upon which Jesus wept is there, both inside and outside the church, it is so large, but it is not featured prominently in the garden, you come across it naturally as you wander the sides of this beautiful sanctuary. There is nothing that attempts to direct your attention or hold your focus hostage upon the agony experienced by one man centuries before on this site. I found it a remarkable place. And one to which I now feel I would very much like to return.

When Rose and I were there 3 teens were kidnapped by terrorists on their way home from school and eventually found murdered in shallow graves on a hillside.

This Middle East place, so Holy and so evil simultaneously.


I have posted more photos on my blipfolio.
I believe this is my 100th entry and I am happy it is of this garden that represents love and giving as Blip is such a place. We all say it, because it's true, love and friendship abound here and I give thanks, deep thanks, for you all. "And God bless us all, every one!" T. Tim :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.