A succulent's flowers

Two more important meetings were completed today, so I can begin to see the light. I scurried back from the morning meeting in town, after giving our architect some advice on what camera equipment he might buy. But I was too late to catch a train to Gloucester, which I'd hoped might get me to my next meeting,and had to drive after all. I love train journeys but seldom seem to go on them anymore. I just have to reminisce about train journeys I have taken on many continents.

The second meeting was in a lovely old building in the close next to Gloucester cathedral at the heart of the old city where the Romans sited there settlement by the important military camp which guarded their western flanks. I forgot to pick up my camera when I left the house despite having prepared it, sio i missed a good opportunity to photograph some of the medieval buildings tucked away out of the public's view. I shall have to go back.

So this evening while Helena cooked some fresh sea bass for supper I nipped out to the garden to refresh the bird feeders, water a few plants, sip a gin and vermouth and potter about with Bomble and his friend Illium from next door. I attached the macro lens and took quick snaps in the somewhat fading light. In the cabin I found this succulent plant, which has been left to its own devices with rather too little water. It had produced a new long limb and this cluster of flowers was beginning to unfurl. I must try using a tripod to see if I can get better results, even though I'm quite pleased with the results tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.