I Feel His Pleasure

Had the group round that I'm covering for during my daughter's maternity leave - for a meal and to watch "Chariots of Fire" - such an inspiring film. Asked them to think about two things:
1. What, if any, principle would they hold to no matter the cost?
2. Why do we think the Sabbath, out of the 10 Commandments, is the one we can ignore?

The famous quote, "I believe that God made me for a purpose. But He also made me fast, and when I run, I feel His pleasure." - even if not something Liddell actually said - pretty much sums up his attitude.

One of the lads brought a framed photo of his great-grandad (3rd from left on front row) and Eric Liddell (first left on top row) together in the Edinburgh Uni Rugby team. Made it seem all the more real.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.