New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

Irresistible

As I expected, people find it irresistible to sit on this bench, so either they haven't read the exhortation not to "climb" on the artwork or they have decided that sitting is not climbing...

It was also irresistible to take a photo of this man who was sitting on it reading, very appropriately, George Orwell's 1984. Did he bring it especially for the purpose, I wondered. And did sitting on the 1984 BookBench, in the shadow of Senate House, bring a new dimension to his reading?

Shame about the marquee in the background - it was there for the Master's Summer party for Birkbeck staff this afternoon. I had to restrain myself with the Pimms as I was teaching this evening. It would have been much better to have had SH in the background but then I wouldn't have got the book title in the shot. Can't win 'em all with a quick, opportunist phone blip?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.