Mikey88

By Mikey88

Swift Moon

I had to go to B+Q for some switches today, so on the way back I stopped off at the river. Not much about - even the insects seemed to have made themselves scarce. I still managed about ninety shots, but a lot of them were empty frames where I had failed to get a butterfly in flight.

I was just editing them and trying to decide which one to blip when I noticed the light coming through the window. On checking, I saw an amazing sunset developing, with some clear blue sky and textured clouds beginning to take on a red glow.

Knowing I wouldn't get anywhere in time for a landscape shot, I thought I'd go into the garden and see if there were any swifts flying about - and indeed there were! I managed another hundred shots of swifts flying against the amazing sky and then I noticed the moon rising behind the red clouds. The swifts were very obliging and flew across it, which made my decision about what to blip tonight.

Knowing I probably wouldn't make it, I rushed in for my tripod and 2x extender to get a shot of the moon in detail, but still behind the red cloud. By the time I'd got everything set up, the colour had faded, and there was just a hint of pink in the two shots I took.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.