Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mad Dogs and Englishmen

W is in a Rock and Pop Choir at home. A few days after we get back, they are recording a CD so she felt the need to do a bit of practice. Now, I can put up with 'Days', Empire State of Mind' and 'Let the River Run', and even at a push, 'Happy', but it's over 40 degrees outside so once we got to the Christmas Medley with 'Sleigh Ride' and 'Jingle Bells' I decided it was time for a walk.

I headed off along the lanes of the upper village. It really is a maze out there. Being where it is at the Eastern end of the Aegean and very close to Turkey, Symi has always been prone to raids by pirates and marauders. Ownership has changed hands several times and it only became part of Greece in the 1940s when the British handed it over, having taken occupation from the Italians. Consequently, the village was built with lots of very narrow lanes, twists, turns and tunnels not only to confuse any attackers, but to make defence against them easier. Initially I planned to retrace my steps but I soon gave up any hope of doing that, but although I was 'lost' I knew that all I had to do if I couldn't find my way was head downhill, as there are only two routes down to the harbour.

I mentioned in a Blip a couple of days ago the much-photographed ruin at the bottom of the Kali Strata. It's not easy to photograph up close, but that's it at the bottom of this view across the harbour, just to the left of centre. If anyone wants to see some of my walk photos, they are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.