An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Sexy Eyes: Armed Forces Day...

Armed Forces Day – Sunday 29th June

Memphis Belles

One picture I bet that wouldn’t get in the Salisbury Journal...

My mate Tom, Journal photographer, nodded over toward the outdoor stage that the trio were singing on and said “I’m going to get a shot of these guys”. “If you think they’re guys, Tom, you need glasses” I replied. A nod of knowing exasperation from Tom.

I really wanted the Salisbury Plain Military Wives Choir as my Blip, as they are a good cause, are amateurs and do it all for fun. However worthy, in comparison, they did just look a teeny bit dull...

Sexy Eyes, on LARGE

So, the Belles, a trio who sing the old standards looked the part on what was otherwise a most disappointing afternoon. No flair or imagination, the crowd swelled only by the superb sunny weather. Salisbury City Council get “Nil points” from me.

The stage had awful scaffolding as backgrounds and the distorting loudspeaker stacks always in my line of view. The side view was about the only option. But only from one direction – a giant inflatable helter-skelter in fluorescent nightmarish colours (how is that connected to the Military? Kids want to go on tanks and guns!). My long zoom soon sought out the middle singer, not necessarily the most attractive but definitely the most charismatic and expressive of the three.

Here she is making sexy faces to her dancing colleague...Edited to bring out the face and eyes.

She even gave ME a sexy look, not as sexy perhaps and which had awful messy background and I thought it better to include at least one other of the troupe.

Afternoon spoiled by the crowd, as I was trying to get a shot of the Military wives, a woman lowered her tot from her shoulders and whose feet knocked my lens and camera hard. It jolted against my eye, giving a slight bruise and knocking off the lenshood. She did mumble an apology but then stared ahead ignorantly. I decided enough was enough. I had had a tiring day the previous in rainy Basingstoke and so my choices for a Blip severely limited.

Lens is Tamron SP 70-300mm VC

Was away today (back in real time, Thurs 3rd) in Frome all day and so again, need to catch up a bit with you all tomorrow. I have a weekend of paid shooting, Saturday being the annual Wilton Carnival, when the weather is due to change for the worse.

BIG thanks for getting Basingstoke’s fisheye up into the Spotlights – much appreciated!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.