Trip home

A lesson learned today:

Me: We need to go to the Warehouse to buy some things before we drive to Murchison.

Sebastian: Can I look at the toys Gran?

Me: Yes, after we've got Gran's things.

Sebastian: Can I buy a planes boat?

Me: Yes we'll find a boat for you.

Sebastian: But can I have it Gran?

Me: Of course you can love.

DUMB, DUMB, DUMB!

Always, but always, check out what the 4 year old means before you agree to anything. As I understood it, I'd just agreed to buying him a boat - at around the price of the planes themselves (under $15). As Sebastian understood it, I'd just agreed to buying him "The Planes" Plane carrier boat - $80.

Well, I'd agreed to hadn't I? Intentionally or not!

The trip home to Murchison (3 and a half hours) consisted of the constant question, "Can I play with my boat at Gran's house?" and not once on the trip home did he let the box go. Not when we went into the cafe in Culverden, not when he fell asleep at Boyle River, not when he woke 5 minutes out of Murchison. Nope. That boat wasn't going to escape him.

Well, at least I know I was suckered into buying something he absolutely loves. And I console myself with the idea that a 4 year old has no concept of money so he doesn't really even know he suckered me. Does he?

Anyway, we were in no hurry to get home, so I'd had a few stopping points in mind. But he slept through them all. I pulled up at this spot where I had intended for us to do a 10 minute walk to a waterfally little creek. But he was fast asleep so just a photo of the entrance to the track instead. Lovely native bush and beech mulch if nothing else.

I've bought Sebastian back with me - we are going to have a few days all on our own without Mummy. Cool - wonder what bad habits I can teach him in that time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.