Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Pleasures are like poppies spread

Earlier in the week the Cumbernauld Village community page on Facebook was updated with photographs of poppies growing near the Langriggs part of the Village, so I thought I'd go down at some point and have a look at the real thing.

Yesterday was somewhat wet and windy but, nevertheless, off I went - with camera in hand, of course. It was clear that the flowers were past their best - a result of meteorological, and perhaps also human, interaction - and the blustery wind made photographing the blighters a bit more difficult (why don't they just sit still for this close-up?) but I managed to get a few photographs for my collection nonetheless. On the plus side, the rain did add to the effect.

The title is from Robert Burns' poem Tam o' Shanter:
"But pleasures are like poppies spread, You sieze the flower, its bloom is shed."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.