Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

My Generation (part 1)

"GENERATION is a major, nation-wide exhibition programme showcasing some of the best and most significant artists to have emerged from Scotland over the last 25 years." So reads the blurb on the exhibition website. Having picked up a brochure for the programme last week, I decided that I would make the Tramway in Glasgow my first stop, as there were a couple of exhibitions there that I wanted to see: one outdoors in the Hidden Gardens and another in one of Tramway's exhibition spaces.

This untitled installation by Glasgow-based sculptor Cathy Wilkes is, in my untrained opinion, a haunting and quite disturbing one, but also one which I found myself strangely drawn to (if that doesn't sound too pretentious!)

The programme - subtitled 25 Years of Contemporary Art in Scotland - takes place in over 60 venues and runs until November, with some exhibitions continuing on until December. So there may be more 'Generation' pictures to follow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.