Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

No Play Today!

Curling is a game played on ice, a rare commodity outdoors in Central Scotland in July (although that is sometimes hard to believe!) So the curling pond in the Colzium Estate, near Kilsyth is purely decorative in summer. In fact, it would need to be a very cold winter for the ice to be thick enough to sustain a curling match here, but that's by the way.

On Sunday afternoon I went for a short stroll round the Colzium Estate - one of these places that's near to where I live and has so much to offer - and settled for this shot of the curling pond as my blip for the day. Only when I went to post the picture online did I discover that, according to Wikipedia, the curling pond at Colzium is claimed to be "the oldest purpose-built curling pond in the world". Gosh, one learns something new every day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.