'Meet The Band'

This morning I was invited over to do a photo shoot with a few mates for Ben's upcoming live double CD and whatever else they would like to use the images for.

Left to Right is Roderick who plays the African Kora, Hang Drum and all sorts of percussion and things that you can hit. In the middle is Ben who is a very gifted singer songwriter and also plays just about anything he can lay his hands on and on the right is Steve who plays the didge, singing bowls and crystal harp among other instruments also.

It was a very relaxed and unstructured morning with a bit of jamming and fooling around and generally having a bit of fun doing it.

When these guys get together to play a gig it really is something that has to be heard to be believed, very powerful stuff that gets the hairs on the back of your neck standing. They all seem to have a really strong connection that binds them together.

I felt very fortunate to be able to spend an hour or so with them this morning, they are all fair dinkum no bullshit kind of guys who really enjoy what they do and love to share it around. I just hope that my shots will be of some use to them.

After the shoot Ben and myself were invited up to the Kallista market where Roderick was running a drumming circle. Ben had a spare Djembe for me so I joined in for half an hour or so which was great fun. Never played one before and I'm sure I didn't do it justice but luckily everyone else was so loud that it drowned out my efforts.

This shot sort of sums up the morning for me though.

Most of the afternoon has been spent editing and culling the images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.