Mags' Moments

By MagsMoments

Thanks...

Today, I have been playing with my camera’s barely touched more unusual settings (specifically the ‘panorama’ option) in between consigning swathes of documents and gazillions (is that a word?) of images to my new 128GB memory stick. I can’t believe the space I’ve freed up, but I’ve been trying to be a good girl and to label and file everything tidily and accessibly and the result is my eyes are crossed and my brain is frazzled (my previous “filing system” for images being pretty much non-existent…).

I have been doing all this whilst sporting a most unexpected and regal bit of ‘bling’… The Blipfoto staff have seen fit to pick last Sunday’s blip to feature and have awarded me a “crown” in recognition! I am astonished, astounded and generally befuddled, but incredibly chuffed too! Thank you, Blipfoto! Last Sunday was not one of the happiest days, but thanks to the selfless and heroic work of over 100 fire-fighters and 17 aircraft, what could have been a far greater tragedy was averted. Sitting nervously on my terrace that day, I was privileged to witness some astounding examples of bravery, professionalism and dedication above and beyond the call of duty and really this crown belongs to the fire teams of this spectacular, but highly flammable, corner of Spain. This is an incredibly beautiful country prone to dearths of rainfall and high winds, a lethal combination if ever an ember should fall… All summer long, fire-fighters like those I witnessed risk their lives to save people, property and our unique environment - and tragically, far too often, some sacrifice their lives in the effort. Truly, the crown belongs to them.

A full panorama would be unusable on Blipfoto, but I quite like this “bit” of one capturing the little Santana chapel and the oleanders and mountains – and Bob, of course! The slanted evening light was bouncing off the path and the trees are very shadowed, but I kinda like the contrast. And looking out from Santana onto the Parque Narural is the perfect place to give thanks for the dedication and bravery of the men who made sure this special spot and many others like it were not lost to the flames.

(Probably best viewed large…)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.