Everyday Life

By Julez

Matty!

Today we took a trip down to Barnet London to see Wigan Warriors take on the London Broncos. Even though the Broncos hadn't won a single game all season and are languishing at the foot of the table, I was just a little apprehensive, as our record for watching the Warriors win live is shockingly bad!

However the lads managed to get a win this time, the score finishing up 6-58! So quite convincing in the end, though I have seen the Warriors play much better and come away with less points!

Another setting I discovered on my camera was Sports Mode, so I was very keen to try it out! For a while I have been trying to get a shot of the goal kicker actually striking the ball, and though I haven't cracked it yet, this is the closest so far: the kicking tee is still airborne so the ball has only just gone! I will get it if I keep practicing!

Matty Smith, the subject of my shot, became our regular goal kicker at the start of this season, after the previous guy, an absolute goal-kicking machine, left the club. To begin with, Matty's kicking percentages were pretty poor - the worst in the league at one point! But he worked hard and is as good as anyone now. He scored with nine attempts from ten today, and many of them were not easy shots!! So practicing obviously paid off for him!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.