Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Little Clements'Pond Series

Dear Diary,

I have been traveling to Walden Pond in Concord, Massachusetts, the site of Thoreau's cabin, for nearly forty years. I thought it high time I had my own personal Walden close to home. Little Clements' Pond is less than a mile south of my house. I've decided to document the little pond over the course of a year. Today, it was the last of the blue flags on the pond's edge.

There is no development around the pond, a rare thing in southern Maine. I can walk the shores in complete solitude. This is the first of my studies of the pond...the first of many I hope. The following quotation from Thoreau's seminal work Walden applies as well to my Little Clements'.

The scenery of Walden is on a humble scale, and, though very beautiful, does not approach to grandeur, nor can it much concern one who has not long frequented it or lived by it's shores. - Henry David Thoreau

Embracing the poetry of place...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.